CHANGE THE WORLD IN 10 SECONDS OR LESS

6 Feb

By Mike Gibson

In a world so big and so messed up, we can easily feel overwhelmed.  I am just a student, just a kid, just a single adult, just one man.  What can I do?

You can change the world in 10 seconds or less.  Here’s how:

– Smile at someone.  It could be anyone.

– Post an honest compliment on a Facebook wall.

– Help pick up dropped books in the hallway.

– Think of an adult you admire and tell him/her that you do.

– Pray for an enemy.

– Be compassionately observant — “You look sad today…”

– Hug a family member.

– When you ask, “How’s it going?” make eye contact and wait for an honest response.

– Give an elementary-aged kid a “high-five.”

– Tell a parent or grandparent that you love him/her.

– When someone does something good, tell them so.  “That was a good shot!”  “That was a good answer!”  “Nice save!”  “I’m impressed!”

– Say something nice behind someone’s back.

– Let your face light up when a friend walks in the room.

Here is a good visual:

Mute the sound and just watch the video.  It is good stuff.

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Grace was there–is there.

Before we asked for it.  Unable to deserve it.  God gave it.  Jesus stepped up and changed the world.  He’s the MVP of grace.  The hero we strive to copy.  The poster on the wall of our souls.

Like the examples in the video, start a Butterfly Effect of Grace.  Give people what they haven’t asked for.  Offer what may not be deserved and see what God does with it.  Yahweh loves this.  This is His game.

You in?

Post a comment to add to our list of ways to Change the World in 10 Seconds or Less.

5 Responses to “CHANGE THE WORLD IN 10 SECONDS OR LESS”

  1. ElAnna February 6, 2012 at 4:52 PM #

    The memory of a small kindness lasts a lifetime.

  2. ElAnna Chitwood February 6, 2012 at 4:55 PM #

    The memory of a small kindness can last a lifetime.

  3. Katy Gibson February 7, 2012 at 12:25 AM #

    I got a chance to do this today. I was paying my car insurance and there was a new agent handling my account. He was new to the job, so it took him a while to do the necessary computer work recording the transaction. I waited patiently and told him it always takes a while to learn a new job. He was an older man and was most appreciative. All it took was to wait quietly and give him a smile and encouragement when I left.

  4. david langford February 7, 2012 at 3:36 PM #

    When you get up in the morning, make a conscious decision that you will not say anything unkind or negative about another person, or pass along hurtful information or gossip or unsubstantiated rumor etc…

    One of my mentors, G. B. Shelburne, amazed me this way. Worked daily with him for several years and never, seriously, never heard him speak negatively of another soul! Wow! Try it.

  5. Samuel Corder February 26, 2012 at 7:26 PM #

    The other day i was drivng home from a band thing, when i saw someone walking on the side of the road. I recognized him from band and i thought i would pull over and give him a ride home. It turns out he lived like 3 miles away from the school, and right down the street from me. I didn’t realize it till after i dropped him off that his name was Jesus, and it made me think about this passage.

    34-36″Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Enter, you who are blessed by my Father! Take what’s coming to you in this kingdom. It’s been ready for you since the world’s foundation. And here’s why:

    I was hungry and you fed me,
    I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
    I was homeless and you gave me a room,
    I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
    I was sick and you stopped to visit,
    I was in prison and you came to me.’

    37-40″Then those ‘sheep’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry and feed you, thirsty and give you a drink? And when did we ever see you sick or in prison and come to you?’ Then the King will say, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me—you did it to me.’

Leave a Reply

